Chinese New Year

December! The month of rest from Nanowrimo…snow…presents…crackers…cosy times with your fave novel…and Christmas!

I look forward to Christmas, definitely, but in Taiwan, more of us celebrate Chinese New Year.

Chinese New Year takes place sometimes between the end of January and the beginning of February, because that’s New Year in the lunar calendar, which is what farmers use.

I love the New Year in Taiwan! Mostly because we get red envelopes of money like these…

5063096.jpg

We also have firecrackers and the New Year is a time when families come together and have fun. I usually go to my grandparents’ place 🙂

And there’s the Chinese Zodiac, which consists of 12 animals…


Rat

Ox

Tiger

Rabbit

Dragon

Snake

Horse

Sheep

Monkey (this is 2016’s zodiac sign)

Rooster (that’s next year, 2017!)

Dog

Pig


You can find your own Chinese zodiac sign by counting down from 2016! I like to pair it with the Western zodiac signs and read about my personality type.

So, even though we don’t get Christmas holidays, and only a few days of New Year holidays, we have a month of Chinese New Year holidays! *awesome*

I hope you enjoyed my mini introduction about Taiwan’s Chinese New Year-feel free to ask me about anything else in the comments- I will be more than glad to tell you about my culture!

x Sol


What’s you Chinese zodiac sign? Does it match with the Western zodiac? Tell me in the comments below!


 

P.S. Does anyone know Kellyn, who loves to use ‘we’ in her posts? We is not happy. We is writing…etc. Guess what-I just found that sentence in Lemony Snicket’s All The Wrong Questions…

We is my brother and me,”

-Pecuchet Bellerophon

‘Cause I’ve been binge reading Lemony Snicket (again)… ;D

Leave a comment